Tags

, , , ,

photo(5)

And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. And the angel departed from her.

-Luke 1:38, KJV, Cambridge Edition

Today, we celebrate the Feast of the Annunciation, which means that my family gets to hear me alternately hum/sing “The Angel Gabriel” off-tune (and sometimes, on key!) throughout the course of the day. For me, this is one of the most joyful days of the calendar, a time to thank God for working wonders for the world via a young, frightened woman, who was brave and trusting enough to say, “Let it be,” (or “be it unto me,” or “let it be done,” or whatever most touches your heart in translation). I gladly say the words of the Magnificat, as beautiful to me as any that appear throughout either the Old or New Testament:

My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord,

my spirit rejoices in God my savior;

for he has looked with favor on his lowly servant.

From this day all generations will call me blessed:

the Almighty has done great things for me,

and holy is his Name.

He has mercy on those who fear him

in every generation.

He has shown the strength of his arm,

he has scattered the proud in their conceit.

He has cast down the mighty from their thrones,

and has lifted up the lowly.

He has filled the hungry with good things,

and the rich he has sent away empty.

He has come to the help of his servant Israel,

for he has remembered his promise of mercy,

The promise he made to our fathers,

to Abraham and his children forever.

-Luke 1:46-55

The Virgin Mother displays those characteristics that I most wish to emulate in my own life – the ability to trust and and the courage to accept what God asks of her. My simple prayer for the day: that I might be a little more like Mary, and “let it be.” Amen.

We beseech thee, O Lord, pour thy grace into our hearts, that we who have known the incarnation of thy Son Jesus Chris, announced by an angel to the Virgin Mary, may by his cross and passion be brought unto the glory of his resurrection; who liveth and reigneth with thee, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

-BCP, pg. 188

