Tags

, , , ,

crochetIt’s a beautiful Monday afternoon, and before my son wakes from his nap and we head outside, I’m stopping in for a moment of inspiration. Monday can be a busy day for me – there is grading, emails, and housework that I always have to catch up on. It’s easy to get caught up in the typical routine of the day.  That’s why I’m dedicating Mondays to highlighting prayer practices from around the Internet that I find inspiring.

Prayer can take shape in a number of forms – it can come from our lips, our hands, or our feet. It can take shape in the form of words, crafts, or music. One prayer ministry that I am particularly impressed by are Shawl Ministries. I have either sewn, crocheted, or knitted (although, the last one, I do rather poorly!) for most of my life. Creating something tangible in my hands has always given me great pleasure, and I can see how a shawl ministry would be a great blessing to both the recipient of a prayer shawl and to the maker. So how does a prayer ministry work? As Saint Peter’s Episcopal Church in Lewes, DE explains it,

It is a ministry in many ways.  People, young and old, gather to knit or crochet while offering prayers for their work, each other and for recipients of the shawls.  In this way they are forming a small group in the community of faith.

The shawls go out to those who are in need of healing, to celebrate birthdays, weddings, anniversaries and achievements in their lives.  They also console the grieving.  When the recipient wears the shawl the love, prayers, tears and good wishes of the group are wrapped around him or her.

As you can see, it’s a lovely ministry! If you are interested in making prayer shawls, here is a website that provides some very useful instructions for either crocheters or knitters.

