Tags

, , ,

As I type, it has just rounded 2:30pm on the clock, which means that it is simultaenously one of my most busy and restful moments of the day: toddler nap time! While I know that most do their noonday prayers at, you know, noon, peanut butter and jelly and sticky fingers means that my quite time for prayers and contemplation has to fall after the boy is in bed, usually somewhere between 1:00pm and 2:00pm. And this is the time of day that I also have to finish all of the work that I could not finish while the little one was awake (there is no such thing as editing during the morning when a two-year old is crawling on top of you). Thank goodness, then, for the Noonday Office! It is like a shot of espresso in my busy, busy day. This particular Collect seems to capture my needs if the morning has been stressful and less than ideal:

Heavenly Father, send your Holy Spirit into our hearts, to direct and rule us according to your will, to comfort us in all our afflictions, to defend us from all error, and to lead us into all truth, though Jesus Chris our Lord.”

-Book of Common Prayer, pg. 105

No matter how busy the morning has been, it is nice to take a five-minute breather (which is as much time as the Noonday Office takes) and spend some quiet time with God, either speaking to Him, reflecting, or simply enjoying the silence of sitting in His presence.

